GR 131

The GR 131 is an island-hopping trail stretching across all seven islands of the Canary Islands. Although the route has been fully signposted on some other islands, work on Gran Canaria has yet to start. The trail starts at the lighthouse of Maspalomas, passes the little village of Ayagaures and leads hikers through the Nature Park of Pilancones before it arrives in Cruz Grande where the last but spectacular climb to Cruz Tejeda starts. The GR 131 then stays high on the mountain crest, passing the Nature Park of Tamadaba, before dropping to the lush Valley of Agaete where it ends.


1) Faro de Maspalomas- Ayagaures

18km, 250m descent, 550m ascent


2) Ayagaures-Tunte

16km, 375m descent, 675m ascent


3) Tunte-Cruz de Tejeda

15km, 300m descent, 910m ascent


4) Cruz de Tejeda-Tamadaba

17km, 1000m descent, 670m ascent


5) Tamadaba-Agaete

12km, 1250m descent, 50m ascent